Baileys Adventures

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine…-Proverbs 17:22

The Next Step July 28, 2010

Filed under: Doctor's Visit,Infertility,TTC — andreabaileys @ 1:00 pm

I know I haven’t posted about my doctor’s appointment two weeks ago yet.  Basically, my fertility monitor didn’t peak again this month, so I went in for an ultrasound.  Ordinarily Doctor W can see a corpus luteum or a follicle on my ovary indicating that either ovulation has occurred or is impending.  This month he saw many tiny follicles that hadn’t matured and nothing else.  There was no indication of ovulation, and in fact no indication that my ovaries had responded to Clomid this month.  He drew blood to check my progesterone level to be certain.  While we were gone last week, I finally got a message from my fertility guru’s office letting me know that my progesterone level was non-existent, indicating that I certainly did not ovulate this month.

I knew that Clomid resistance was a possibility, and that with somewhere around 13 Clomid cycles I was merely gambling each month that it would keep working. My luck was bound to run out, and it finally did.  Since I’m currently on the highest dosage that my guru’s office will give, it’s time to move on to the next step.

Apparently the next step is gonadatropin therapy.  Or injectable drugs, depending on what you want to call them.  Basically it’s a shot of hormones to stimulate my ovaries to do their job that I inject at home in my abdomen throughout the month.  Good times.  Luckily, the guru tell me that 99% of women respond well to gonadatropins to stimulate ovulation. The downside is the cost of the drug is much higher, and I”ll need many more ultrasounds to monitor my progress.  As best I understand (and I may be wrong), Clomid works on your brain chemistry and gonadatropins work on your actual ovaries.  I think.

I’ll call tomorrow to get some Provera to finish up this cycle and start a new one.  Then off to the doctor for another ultrasound and some education on how to give myself a shot.  We’re still debating whether or not to throw an IUI in the mix this cycle, too.  This looks to be an incredibly stressful and unbelievably expensive cycle already so hey, why not?!

As always, I’ll keep you posted as I know more details.  I welcome questions and suggestions, and always covet your prayers.  Happy hump day!!

 

2 Responses to “The Next Step”

  1. Allison Says:

    I wanted to make a smarty remark about insurance, but I’ll restrain myself 😉 xoxo

  2. A-dawg Says:

    Maybe we can trade syringe stories and tips? 🙂 I’ve heard good things about their results too–yay!

    The squeamish may want to stop reading here but… we were sent home from the AI Clinic with a free plastic speculum and set of sterile, one-use needleless syringes for if we wanted to attempt “free” “ICI’s” at home. I was used to the procedure from being the one to depress the syringe plunger at the clinic and viewing the oss dilated, etc. Not sure if y’all would be comfy with trying this at home additionally, but it gives the swimmers a head start and would be free since you’d have everything you’d need at home…even if you only get an ICI instead of an IUI…our son was conceived on an ICI rather than an IUI though so I’m a fan of ICI’s too 😉


Leave a Reply

