Baileys Adventures

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine…-Proverbs 17:22

Happy Mother’s Day! May 8, 2011

Filed under: Family Stuff — andreabaileys @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

In honor of Mother’s Day, I spent some time this week thinking about my mother and grandmothers.  So much of who they are (or were) and what they have done is an integral part of who I am as well.

This week, in honor of my mother, Kaye…..

I cared for four children as if they were my own.  I let them climb all over me, I snuggled them close, and I helped them learn something new whenever possible.  I helped them make Mother’s Day presents for their mothers.  In honor of my mama, I started making a toy that will provide them with hours of fun, using the resources I had to work with. In honor of my mother I kept my house clean, made dinner, and worked harder from home than I ever would have in the job field.  I kept in touch with friends and family across the world in my free time, and stayed up too late.

This week, in honor of my grandmother, Mamie…..

I traded something I had (milled wheat) for something I didn’t (free range eggs).  I added those eggs to some flour, got my hands in there, and made dough for noodles, making from scratch something my husband would love to eat.  I used locally grown ingredients to make good food to feed us, on a shoestring budget.  I remembered to use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without, something she knew how to do before it was cool.  I spent some time with my Lord, and I used my free time to crochet and craft.

This week, in honor of my grandmother, Margie…..

I made an awesome spaghetti sauce using her recipe.  It was my first time, but she would have liked it.  I kept up with some news and celebrity gossip, I taped the Kentucky Derby, and I played cards with my family on Saturday night. Occasionally I said a completely inappropriate word with gusto, but no malice.  I collected a recipe to try later, and eventually I’ll add it to my own recipe book with notes on what worked best. I laughed loudly and often, told a few jokes, and did what was necessary to make life run smoothly.

This week, in honor of my mom-in-law, Susie…..

I remembered something I once read:  In order to love your spouse even more, imagine them as a four year old.  This week I thought of how much she loves Brian and how much fun he apparently was as child, and I loved him when he wasn’t feeling well or had a rough day.  I hugged him even harder because she’s not here to do it.  Like her, I prayed for him and her girls, and for her family.  She’s shared her family with me, and I will always thank her for that.

I come from a long line of strong, resourceful women who have paved the way for the next generations with blood, sweat, tears, frustration, and prayer. From a long line of women who worked outside the home when most didn’t, who raised huge families on no money, and who faced the worst adversities with style and fortitude.  I will forever be grateful for their example.

Happy Mother’s Day!

 

2 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. Mama Says:

    Now I’m the one with tears in my eyes from reading this. This blog is the nicest Mothers Day gift you could ever have given to any of us. Remember: “you are the sum of all your experiences.” Thank you for being you. You make me so proud. Love you (mucho, mucho!) Mama


Leave a Reply

