Baileys Adventures

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine…-Proverbs 17:22

Work in Progress Wednesday: Nursery February 1, 2012

Filed under: Work In Progress — andreabaileys @ 3:44 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Last week we started our PRIDE classes in order to be licensed as a foster family.  Our home study will start after that, and then we’ll hopefully be open to placement for children who need a place to live for however long.  At this point, we’re open to fostering children temporarily as they need it, and more than willing to adopt children who can’t return home for some reason.  We’re not entirely sure of the exact requirements in Virginia are yet, but we’ll know soon enough how much needs to be prepared ahead of placement.  But most of the information that I’ve read indicates that we need to be able to show that we have a room ready for a child to move in with no notice.  We plan to paint the room, have a crib and basic furniture, and a few pieces of clothing in each size for both boys and girls.  We have diapers, of course, as well as some toys and books, so that’s taken care of.

Last weekend I had some spare time and I decided to check out the children’s clothing at Goodwill.  I’m a thrifty shopper at the best of times, and I love a good yard sale or Goodwill.  My intention was to pick up a few staples that a child would need if they arrived in the middle of the night or whatnot – things like sleepers, onesies, T-shirts that can work for a child until I can get to a store for their things.  I was pretty proud of myself:  I only spent about $12 all weekend long!  However….

I always said that I wouldn’t dress our daughters in the mandatory pink frou-frou stuff.  Pink is fine, but I want our girls to be able to wear any color they want, and to define their own preferences and identities.  Apparently, I am a big fat liar.  Because I fell in love with a little pink dress and crocheted sweater.  Heaven help the first girl to come through our house who can fit in this dress…


In addition to some clothing, I picked up a moon lamp that I had picked out from IKEA.  It was listed on Craigslist for $5, and it’s just as awesome as I hoped it would be.  I can’t wait to get everything put together and hang it up!

Our next step is to paint the room a pale yellow (in keeping with the Classic Pooh theme we picked out years ago) and then head to IKEA for the crib.  This is probably my favorite work in progress!

 

2 Responses to “Work in Progress Wednesday: Nursery”

  1. Allison Says:

    so so so proud of you! Meant to email you all week. YOu know we always have baby girl stuff for you 🙂 xoxo

  2. A-Dawg Says:

    This post made my heart sing! Those are going to be some lucky girls &/or boys. Y’all should sail through your home study and will probably have the social worker taking notes on “how to” tips to share w/ other families.

    And hey, WAY TO SHOP! Nice picks 🙂


Leave a Reply

